February 18th is National Wine Day, and we’re always down for a good glass of wine. However, not just any wine will do. In fact, a lot of wine is not vegan. Did you know that many wineries sneak some pretty gross ingredients into their wine during the fertilization and fining processes of winemaking?
What’s lurking in your wine?
According to Frances Gonzalez, the founder of Vegan Wines, a plant-based wine club, and Despacito Distributors, an entirely plant-based wine distribution company, most people aren’t even aware of what non-vegan ingredients are in wine.
“We’re talking egg whites, gelatin, fish bladders, and milk proteins, all of which are used to clarify the wine,” she says. These ingredients bind to and remove unwanted wine sediments during the fining process and can also camouflage a bad harvest.
Lots of vineyards also use animal products in their fertilizers, like fish emulsion, feathers, blood, and bone meal,” says Gonzalez.
Even manure used for fertilizer can come from factory farms where the animals are fed chemicals and antibiotics, which is then transferred to the soil, and then the grapes, the wines, and finally, into the consumer’s body.
She believes that most people aren’t aware of what’s in their wine because there is no law that requires winemakers to disclose ingredients, which, aside from animal byproducts, can also include sugar, water, and even dye if the harvest was bad.
This doesn’t have to be the case though.
Can winemakers skip animal byproducts to make wine?
Instead of using animal byproducts, some winemakers opt to use the process of racking to remove the larger pieces of sediment from the wine, allowing the winemaker to move wine from one barrel to another using the force of gravity instead of the non-vegan process.
Others may use different types of fining agents, like bentonite (a clay) to clarify their wines, or they may use cold stabilization or filtering processes to remove sediment.
Are vegan wines better?
Gonzalez says that winemakers who use vegan practices are better able to retain the grapes’ natural character instead of stripping or masking it with harsh ingredients. In addition, vegan wines generally contain no additives like sugar, water, dye, or any of the other 300 (!!) ingredients which can be used in winemaking. She finds that those winemakers who embrace minimal intervention practices and work with nature, rather than against it, produce a superior product. So, in short: yes, vegan wines are better.
How can you tell if wine is vegan?
“There’s no way to tell except by doing your research. You can’t know what the vineyard uses to fertilize the soil or what the winery’s fining processes are unless you talk to the winemaker,” she says.
Her company, Vegan Wines, does this by visiting vineyards around the world to meet the winemakers and personally vet every wine they sell and distribute.
Apps like Barnivore only tell you if animal byproducts are used in the actual wine itself.
Where to find vegan wines?
If you’re looking for an easy way to find vegan wines, discover five vegan wines you can enjoy tonight. Also, try the new Avaline brand, an all-vegan wine that’s non-GMO and gluten-free launched by Cameron Diaz and Katherine Power.
Photo: Vegan Wines
Diana Edelman is the founder of Vegans, Baby and has emerged as the face of plant-based dining in Las Vegas and the leading plant-based restaurant consultant in the city. She spent a decade in the travel blogging world before switching gears to work in elephant rescue in Thailand. Diana travels the world to meet chefs and try vegan food, as well as speak at events focusing on travel, tourism, veganism and entrepreneurship. She’s a partner with the prestigious James Beard Foundation and curates their Vegas Vegan Dinners at the James Beard House. Diana is also a partner with Life is Beautiful, curating the all-vegan Farm Stand.